Thur / Fri

Stevo was out most of the day so it was an admin day. Swapped gas/electric and saved almost £700 per year. Insured the dog. Sorted meds at the Doctors. Sorted Dental Insurance. Put a casserole in the oven for tea.

Not a lot else happened. Slept fine till 03.30 hrs.

Friday – 19th Feb.

While I was awake for a good few hours in the night for no good reason. Anyway, we went to our local town, Cwmbran. Did about 1700 steps or 0.80 of a mile according to fitbit. No probs. Be glad to get rid of the crutch though – they are uncomfy on the arm/hand though handy for poking young children who fail to look where they are going 🙂 I intended to buy deck shoes from M&S but while 5.50 was fine on the left foot it was too tight on the right. I was walking out of a six. I guess the design is just not suited to my feet! I did buy a nice bag in House of Fraser but failed to get the leggings I wanted in Primark though – should have bought two pairs the last time. They are just nice and thick and feel nice. Morrisons after for wine and a few bits and pieces. I did have a small moment in the one aisle, it was empty apart from me and I had, er, wind. I didn’t hold it and walked on, then a lady appeared – oooops. I beat a hasty retreat 🙂

Not sorry to get home, one crutch is better than two but my back aches after a while and my right wrist was cramping.

Cooked a lush curry tonight, I think the difference was using passata and some lemon juice with the chicken.

No aches, pains or anything right now. Whatever is going on in my wrist is painful if I turn my wrist various ways – Carpal tunnel? Plus still get shooting pains and numbness in my lateral thigh on the non operated side. What’s that all about? Left over nerve damage from the spinal? Meralgia paresthetica? I will have an awful lot of questions the next time I see the surgeon!

Wed 18th

Worst nights sleep for a long time. Everything except the hip hurt. My wrist kept shooting searing pains up my arm, my back was aching, I wanted to stretch my legs, bend my legs, lie on the hip side, lie on the other side, two pillows, one pillow. I had dozed off ok initially but when Steve came to bed our lovelorn dog started barking at the crate the in season puppy is in. He is normally quiet if he can see her – not so this time. He did settle after being told off by his Dad. The damage was done then though and I couldn’t sleep. I dozed off eventually but then puppy wanted a pee  and the noise started again, eventually Steve went downstairs to control things – I did volunteer!

Steve is out all day today so I am just pottering about. Oh I have lost some weight! 11st 8.75 lbs. Another half a stone and I will be happy (I am 5’9″) I’m not using the crutch today to try and give the wrist a rest and I notice that it is easier and that I am not doing a drunken sailor wobble so much.

It is nice and peaceful here today, apart from pining dog! I have been doing admin work, changing gas/electric suppliers and saving £700 pa in the process. Insuring the puppy. Checking out new dental insurance. Boring and time consuming but necessary!

Think a bit more retail therapy and escape from house arrest may be in order tomorrow!