‘The Phone Call’

I had the call at 11am today from Emersons Green Hospital. I am to be there at 10am Monday 25th January. No food after midnight Sunday, not drinks either although I can sip water, they emphasised sip, until I get there. I can have a snack before I go to bed but nothing on the day. No make up, nail polish, jewellery, sprays, perfumes, etc. No cuts or abrasions on my skin. Did I have a cold, chest infection, bladder infection.  Had I been to West Africa recently. Had I been in any other hospital recently?  Must remember my sample of urine. No ibuprofen for 24 hours before. I can take paracetamol though.

I have to take a bag with my washing stuff, two sets of slippers – not mule types. Two sets of PJ’s or nighty. Two sets of comfy loose clothing as I will be doing physio.

I have been in self imposed quarantine since Tuesday this week as I really, really don’t want to catch a bug, of any type.

Talk about clammy hands and feet, I am so scared. What of? I don’t know specifically. The needles going in? The noises? The pain after? The recovery time? Something going wrong?  I just wish I could fast forward a few months.

Don’t underestimate pre op stress either. I realised it yesterday when my husband pissed me off in some fine style. I did tell him but found myself more upset than I would be normally. Mood swings etc. Not sure how to combat this. Anyway I guess i should sort out music play lists, books, chargers, etc etc.

Published by

Lilygreen Photography

Semi Retired Horse Portrait Photographer. I love photographing dogs and flowers too, in fact anything that catches my eye.

2 thoughts on “‘The Phone Call’”

  1. Hi Wendy. I am 9 days post op and my emotions are irritable as well as you go from being capable to not capable of doing much. I had the lateral approach which has big time restrictions X 6 weeks. One of my sisters is here until Sunday so after that I will be solo. You will do fine. No matter what our post op course we get to the end of it. Some just faster and easier than others. The incarceration is time limited.
    Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Elizabeth, not sure what approach mine is! I can’t do a lot for the first 6 weeks either. I know I am a bit grouchy as does the BT man in Mumbai to whom I reported a landline fault today. Still at least I didn’t swear at him! x

      Like

Leave a comment